Mental Health Act Commission Biennial Reports

Hi everyone!:slightly_smiling_face: I was wondering if anyone had copies of the biennial reports of the Mental Health Act Commission. I am a research student and these reports would be super valuable for my research. Unfortunately, I have only be able to get digital copies of the 1st and 13th biennial report. So, I would appreciate your help with finding the 2nd to the 12th biennial reports. Thank you!

Hi Chioma,

I have the 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th and 12th reports in PDF format. Can you give me an email address to forward to, I don’t think I can attach them here.

Lisa

1 Like

I’ve found the 8th–13th on the computer, and the 5th–7th (and some later ones) are on the Internet Archive: Internet Archive: Digital Library of Free & Borrowable Books, Movies, Music & Wayback Machine

I’ll upload them to MHLO as soon as I get a chance.

I hope we can find the first four next!

Hi Lisa! Thank you very much for getting in touch. My email is chiomadibia@gmail.com. Thanks again!

Hi Jonathan! It is great to hear from you. I would appreciate if you could put them up here or send them to my email address in the alternative. Thanks Jonathan!

1 Like

Found the very first report online, from 1983–1985! https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/235876/0586.pdf

1 Like

That is impressive Jonathan! :clap:t3::clap:t3::clap:t3:
I found 8-13 as digital files in my folders. Looks like that was when they started issuing them in that format.

1 Like

I’ve added these to the Mental Health Act Commission page.

Biennial Reports

1 Like

Thank you Jonathan!

A post was split to a new topic: Locating Richardson committee report and Orville Blackwood inquiry report

8th and 9th were my favourites: interesting to note what they said about MHA applications when the grounds under s13 were met by the ASW(!) was not being told from where the bed would come!