Difference between section 3 and DoLS

Hi this question may look silly but please some help me. I am a newly qualified MH nurse and faced a question from one of the dementia patients family.
Patient was on section 2 and placed on DOLS when section 2 expired. They asked what is the difference between section 3 and DOLS. I told them that both are same on treatment wise but DOLS applied due to lack in capacity. One of the other colleagues laughed at me and said in front of everyone that “better you need to update your knowledge or find another job”. I asked her to explain me the difference but she didn’t say anything. Please can someone help me by explaining the difference between both

Hi, you’ll get lots of replies to this explaining things far better than I could. Including references to a recent case involving Manchester which means it is possible (indeed likely) that S3 should have been applied instead of DoLS.
I just wanted to say that there is no shame in being confused about this- most people are, myself included. If everyone who was confused about the interface between the MHA and the MCA and DoLS needed to look for another job, there wouldn’t be many people left. The only person who should feel ashamed about the situation you describe is the person who laughed at you.

9 Likes

I think normally one would look to a DoLS if the patient was in a nursing home/ community. Section 3 would be better for a hospital.

Am I the only person on here to be absolutely dismayed by this whole conversation?

1 Like

Why dismayed?

Hi Matths,