Councils cannot allow multiple care home contracts to run in tandem

Ever come across this problem?

https://www.lgo.org.uk/information-centre/news/2022/sep/councils-cannot-allow-multiple-care-home-contracts-to-run-in-tandem

To help anyone wondering what the problem was – the council turned a blind eye to the care home forcing a family to pay the difference between its local authority rate and its private rate.

Hello Jonathan,

Yes you ever come across it in practice? I think its a common problem.

I haven’t, as it’s not my area of law and hasn’t cropped up in a case so far. I’m just learning when top-up fees are lawful (or not) from internet searches today. If unlawful top-up fees are common, and it sounds like they are, then I’m sure lots of people will have come across them – but do you have any particular scenario in mind you want to discuss?

Hello,
Attempts to present full care contract T and C’s (with need of witnessed signing) as ‘personal allowance’ accounts and mandatory. Complaint made to OPG (by care home/council/NHS?) about attorney not providing personal allowance for relative in S117 funded care home placement now lacking capacity. Attorney responds to OPG complaint by trying to set up ‘personal allowance’ account with care home who then forward full Ts and Cs care charging contract (with full costs of care within contract which is being paid by council under S117 funding presently) to sign or otherwise its not possible to set up personal allowance account. When attorney challenges care home they say he must sign because it is mandatory for all residents. Also say contract applies whether he signs or not!! (so why need to sign with witness then?). Attorney refuses and says will seek legal advice. Any thoughts on this?