Conditional or Deferred conditional discharge

If a hospital would support a conditional discharge but there is no supported accommodation identified yet, can the tribunal grant a deferred conditional discharge or would they need to adjourn for further information as no accommodation is currently identified? Do they need to be able to draft the actual condition with an address to be able to defer?

https://www.mentalhealthlaw.co.uk/Section_37/41:_hospital_order_with_restrictions#Deferred_conditional_discharge_by_Tribunal

This is probably a good place to start to answer your questions.

An address isn’t required if accommodation needs to be identified when drafting conditions for deferred CD. The draft condition will probably read as ’ X will reside at accommodation as approved by the Responsible Clinician and Social Supervisor’.

1 Like

I am not a lawyer, I am a parent of a child with MH issues. The tribunal can set a date in the future I believe, but there is a risk the local authority still don’t have the necessary support in place still. I don’t believe they can set it up such that ‘when available’ discharge happens.

We have been and are still going though this exact issue. 16 months of the local authority dragging their heels. MHT wouldn’t discharge as no provision in place and risk of not being ready. Meanwhile seems no accountability for local authority to actually do anything except say there is nothing suitable available.

1 Like

I hope it all works out for the best for you and your child, in the end. What you’ve said is right for unrestricted cases, but conditional discharge only applies in restricted cases. Here’s the relevant paragraph from link above: